Reading Specialist Certification Program

To enroll for reading specialist certification, you are required to be certified to teach, regardless of whether you are currently employed as a teacher. The reading specialist certification program is a 24-credit graduate-level program approved by the Pennsylvania Department of Education.

Enrolling in the reading specialist certification program at Cedar Crest means top professors in the literacy field will prepare you in the latest instructional techniques so you can provide reading support to all students in K-12 classrooms.

Cedar Crest also has one of the few programs in the area that provides the option of teaching students or your colleagues, thanks to a literacy coaching option that allows you to “train the trainer.”

While the program prepares you to be a reading specialist, the benefits of this certification do not end there! Credits earned in the reading specialist certification program at Cedar Crest can also be applied to the art of teaching master’s degree.

Other key features of the program include:

  • Flexible field practicum, including summer opportunities
  • Courses are eligible for Act-48 credit
  • Competitive pricing and convenient payment options

The coursework includes:

  • REA 503: Reading: Past, Present and Future—Mondays from 5:30-8:30 p.m.
  • EDU 514: Reading in the Content Area—Thursdays from 6-9 p.m.
  • EDU 513: Reading and Language Arts
  • REA 504: Diagnosis, Assessment and Remedial Reading Techniques
  • REA 505: Word Study and Vocabulary Development
  • REA 506: Literacy Coaching (Must be taken as final course before practicum)

Field practicum as follows (6 credits required):

  • REA 507: Reading Specialist—Early and Elementary Experience
  • REA 508: Reading Specialist—Middle and High School Experience
    OR REA 509: Leadership as the Reading Professional

* Student transcripts will be evaluate to meet PDE requirements of 9 credits in Spec. Ed. and 3 credits in ESL