CONTACT: Allison Benner, College Relations Associate - Media, 610-740-3790

Cedar Crest College Faculty Member Receives Fulbright Scholar Award

Allentown, PA (April 5, 2005) - W. Michael Donovan, Associate Professor of Business and Chair of Business, Management, and Economics at Cedar Crest College in Allentown, Pennsylvania, has been awarded a Fulbright Scholar grant to lecture on the development of capitalistic fitness and entrepreneurialism in Chisinau, Moldova during the 2005-2006 academic year, according to the United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

Observing that entrepreneurialism and economic development is dependent on widespread social acceptance of capitalistic processes and ability, Professor Donovan will work with students to understand this challenge and to help their fellow citizens enhance a market environment that simultaneously reduces tensions which can exist between capital and labor.

Professor Donovan, who is pursuing a Ph.D. in Public Policy at University of Southern Maine’s Muskie School for Public Service, is a graduate of Bowdoin College and the Columbia Business School. He is one of approximately 800 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad to some 140 countries for the 2005-2006 academic year through the Fulbright Scholar Program. Established in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the program’s purpose is to build mutual understanding between the people of the United States and other countries.

The Fulbright Program, America’s flagship international educational exchange activity, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Over its 57 years of existence, thousands of U.S. faculty and professionals have studied, taught or done research abroad, and thousands of their counterparts from other countries have engaged in similar activities in the U.S. They are among more than 250,000 American and foreign university students, K-12 teachers, and university faculty and professionals who have participated in one of the several Fulbright exchange programs.

Recipients of Fulbright Scholar awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement and because they have demonstrated extraordinary leadership potential in their fields. Among thousands of prominent Fulbright Scholar alumni are Milton Friedman, Nobel Prize-winning economist; Alan Leshner, CEO of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS); Rita Dove, Pulitzer Prize-winning poet; and Craig Barrett, CEO of Intel Corporation.


For further information about the Fulbright Scholar Program, please contact Kirsten Bermingham, communications specialist, Council for International Exchange of Scholars. Telephone: 202.686.7869
E-mail: kbermingham@cies.iie.org Web site: www.cies.org


Return to Press Release archive