Contact: Allison Benner, College Relations Associate - Media, 610-740-3790


Charles Fletcher to Receive the College's Associates' Award at Fundraising Luncheon on Tuesday, March 8

Allentown, PA (February 2, 2005) - Charles Fletcher will be honored as the recipient of the 2005 Cedar Crest College Associates' Award. Fletcher will receive the award at the Associates' Award Luncheon, Tuesday, March 8 at 12 Noon in the Dining Room of the Tompkins College Center, Cedar Crest College. Fletcher is a past president of the Associates and will be recognized for his substantial contributions to the College and the community.

Charles Fletcher joined Schoen Furniture in 1947 and was president and CEO when he retired in 1990. He also served as president of the Allentown Center City Association and the Allentown Parking Authority. Currently he is secretary of the authority and is active on committees for the aging and senior services of Lehigh County and the United Way. A member of Congregation Brith Sholom and Temple Beth El, Charles is a past president of the Jewish Federations of the Lehigh Valley and Beth El, and is an honorary board member of the Allentown Jewish Community Center.

Fletcher is the thirteenth recipient of the Associates' Award presented by the Associates of Cedar Crest College. Given annually, the Associates' Award recognizes an individual or individuals who have made significant contributions to Cedar Crest College; graduates of the College who have achieved success in their chosen fields; or individuals whose careers reflect the College's mission of promoting women's leadership.

In receiving the award, Fletcher joins a distinguished group of past honorees: Charles and Constance Noonan, long-term associates of the College (2004); Dr. Anne Okal Winkler, Cedar Crest College Trustee and pioneer in the field of nursing (2003); Abram Samuels, Cedar Crest College Trustee, philanthropist and Chairman of the Board of Automatic Devices, Inc. (2002); Kathryn Stephanoff, Director of the Allentown Public Library (2001); Joan Miller Moran, activist and volunteer (2000); Helen M. Whitaker '71, Vice President of Administration at Northampton Community College (1999); Cynthia Blaschak '84, Cedar Crest College Trustee (1998); Jane S. Baker '67, former Pennsylvania State Representative and former Lehigh County Executive (1997); Elsbeth G. Haymon, community activist and development director for Community Services for Children (1996); The Honorable Madeline Palladino (1995); Alice Anne Miller, Cedar Crest College Trustee (1994); and Ardath Rodale, CEO, Rodale Inc. (1993).

Founded in 1964, the Associates of Cedar Crest College are business, professional and civic leaders from the greater Lehigh Valley area who have demonstrated a continuing interest toward the pursuit of excellence in the liberal arts education of women. The Associates joined the College in an effort to develop close ties with business and community leaders and to directly participate in the development of higher education. In 1981, they began awarding student scholarships in order to play a more substantial role in educating future leaders. The Associates also assist the Board of Trustees and the President in achieving a broader community understanding of the philosophy and educational program of the College. They are encouraged to participate in the life of the College community so they can benefit from its cultural experience and be better equipped to share the values, talents and resources of Cedar Crest with the community.

Tickets to the Associates' Awards Luncheon honoring Charles Fletcher are still available. For tickets and information, contact the Cedar Crest College Special Events Hotline at 610-740-3791.



Return to Press Release archive