Contact: Allison Benner, College Relations Associate – Media, 610-740-3790

Dr. Marilyn L. Steinbright Received the College’s Associates' Award at Luncheon on Tuesday, March 7, 2006

Allentown, PA (March 28, 2006) – Dr. Marilyn L. Steinbright was honored as the recipient of the 2006 Cedar Crest College Associates’ Award at the Associates’ annual luncheon on March 7, 2006. Steinbright is a former Trustee of the College and was recognized for her substantial contributions to the College and the community.

During the luncheon, Steinbright was honored by representatives from seven organizations who, among the dozens of others, have benefited from the generosity of Steinbright and the Arcadia Foundation. Lehigh County Executive Don Cunningham proclaimed the day as Marilyn Steinbright Day and Hank Cisco, Ambassador for the Borough of Norristown, where she resides, presented her with the key to the borough.

Remarks were also given by Dr. Lynald Silsbee, of The Swain School; Rev. Allan Kramer-Moyer of Phoebe Ministries; Dr. Steven K. Marks of The Lehigh Valley Zoo; and Cynthia L. Blashcak '84, a Trustee of Cedar Crest College.

W. Warren Armstrong, President of the Associates' Board of Directors presented Steinbright with the 2006 award as Cedar Crest President Dorothy Blaney and 2006 Steinbright Scholar recipient Shannon McDermott '07 looked on and 235 grateful attendees rose to their feet in tribute. The luncheon raised a record $18,000 for The Associates' scholarship fund.

Marilyn Steinbright ’56 has distinguished herself both as a philanthropist and volunteer. Steinbright served as a Trustee of Cedar Crest College from 1971-1986.

Since the 1950s the members of the Steinbright family have established several endowed scholarships at the College and generously supported Cedar Crest in many ways. In 2001, Steinbright, as president of the Arcadia Foundation, made a gift of $5 million to Cedar Crest, in support of the College’s endowment. This represented the largest single gift given to Cedar Crest College at the time.

The Arcadia Foundation made a $1 million gift to Cedar Crest in 1995 to support advanced technology in the College’s library/learning resource center and to expand the College’s library collection. The money from that grant also provided for the wiring of the residence halls for Internet access and it moved the faculty towards making the curriculum more interactive, creating multi-media classrooms and laboratories.

Previously the Steinbright family established the Marilyn Lee Steinbright Scholarship at the College and furnished a chemistry lab in the Pool Science Center. In 1969, Cedar Crest named its new residence hall, Steinbright Hall in honor of the family. Through the Arcadia Foundation, Steinbright also supported numerous other colleges and universities throughout the region.

Aside from receiving a bachelor’s degree in education from Cedar Crest, Marilyn received an honorary doctor of humane letters from the College in 1989. She holds additional honors from Arcadia University and Ursinus College.

Marilyn is best known for her volunteer and service work in southeastern Pennsylvania. Along with her mother, the Delaware Valley Chapter of the NSFRE named Marilyn philanthropist of the year in 1988. She has served on the boards of the Franklin Institute, the Philadelphia Museum of Art and the University of Pennsylvania’s Institute of Contemporary Art, The Academy of Natural Sciences, Wildlife Preservation International, the Arthritis Foundation, and Friends of Valley Forge Park. A supporter of the arts, the Arcadia Theatre at Philadelphia’s Arden Theatre Company is named for the Steinbright Family foundation.

In receiving the award, Steinbright joins a distinguished group of past honorees: the late Charles Fletcher, past-president of the associates (2005); Charles and Constance Noonan, long-term associates of the College (2004); Dr. Anne Okal Winkler, Cedar Crest College Trustee and pioneer in the field of nursing (2003); the late Abram Samuels, Cedar Crest College Trustee, philanthropist and former Chairman of the Board of Automatic Devices, Inc. (2002); Kathryn Stephanoff, Director of the Allentown Public Library (2001); Joan Miller Moran, activist and volunteer (2000); Helen M. Whitaker ’71, Vice President of Administration at Northampton Community College (1999); Cynthia Blaschak ’84, Cedar Crest College Trustee (1998); Jane S. Baker ’67, former Pennsylvania State Representative and former Lehigh County Executive (1997); Elsbeth G. Haymon, community activist and development director for Community Services for Children (1996); The Honorable Madeline Palladino (1995); Alice Anne Miller, Cedar Crest College Trustee (1994); and Ardath Rodale, CEO, Rodale Inc. (1993).

Founded in 1964, the Associates of Cedar Crest College are business, professional and civic leaders from the greater Lehigh Valley area who have demonstrated a continuing interest toward the pursuit of excellence in the liberal arts education of women. The Associates joined the College in an effort to develop close ties with business and community leaders and to directly participate in the development of higher education. In 1981, they began awarding student scholarships in order to play a more substantial role in educating future leaders. The Associates also assist the Board of Trustees and the President in achieving a broader community understanding of the philosophy and educational program of the College. They are encouraged to participate in the life of the College community so they can benefit from its cultural experience and be better equipped to share the values, talents and resources of Cedar Crest with the community.


Return to Press Release archive