Skip To Content

Phi Eta Sigma National Honor Society Celebrates Inaugural Induction Ceremony at Cedar Crest 

The inaugural class of Phi Eta Sigma on the stage in Alumnae Hall.

2023 marks an important year for the Phi Eta Sigma national honor society, and for the Cedar Crest College chapter. In March, the organization will celebrate its centennial anniversary and on Sunday, October 15, it held its inaugural induction ceremony at Cedar Crest College.  

Founded at the University of Illinois in 1923, Phi Eta Sigma is the oldest and largest honor society for first-year students across all disciplines in the United States. Students are eligible to join if they achieve at least a 3.5 on a 4.0 scale at the close of any full-time curricular period during their first year of college. 

For the inaugural ceremony, Dr. Mary Lee Caldwell, Executive Director of Phi Eta Sigma, attended to present Dr. Elizabeth Meade with the official charter for the College’s chapter of the organization.  

61 Cedar Crest College students were inducted into Phi Eta Sigma as the chapter’s founding members.  

This year’s inductees were: Caitlyn Anders, Alexandrea Bennett, Emmeline Bensinger, Amber Bitner, Ashley Bless, Emily Bonser, Hannah Bonser, Alexandra Brito, Christell Castillo, Nephtalie Charles, Angelica Cotto, Alexis Cummins, Jazmyn Davis, Elizabeth Diehl, Alison Edwards, Laney Ferraro, Elizabeth Fihlman, Isabella Flood, Katherine Franzone, Haley Gambler, Kendall Heiney, Noor Hussain, Savanah Keefe, Ashley Large, Samantha McKim, Sheyenne Moore, Kylee Moyer, Alexandria Mullen, Ryleigh Nemec, Isabella Neto, Abena Nettles, Maia Nimeh, Alexandra Panitz, Grace Patzer, Gracelynn Pauley, Briana Perez, Alexandria Porchik, Michelle Raytsis, Casey Rech, MacKayla Reed, Gaudy Reinoso-Acosta, Kristina Rogers, Jasmine Ross, Anna Rusins, Sonia Sandhu, Jessandra Santiago, Nicole Schafer, Mackenzy Schutt, Emily Schwartz, Krystal Sears, Jessica Simins, Camryn Snyder, Lily Spagnola, Kelly Sy, Jhelitza Tavares Mateo, Tara Tevald, Gabriellia Vanegas, Autumn Velez, Jacklin Villagran, Paige Wambold, and Olivia Wanner.